Department of Management Sciences
AACSB International EQUIS - European Quality Improvement System

CityU HK MS Seminar

Dr. Zhi CHEN and Dr. Simon TRIMBORN are the current seminar co-organizers
Ms. Wen BAI and Mr. Yizhi SONG are the current seminar student helpers.

Semester A 2020/21

 

26 Nov 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30

 

20 Nov 2020, Fri, 11:00-12:30

 

19 Nov 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30

 

12 Nov 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30

 

05 Nov 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30
 
29 Oct 2020, Thu, 10:00-11:30 (Joint Seminar, with EF)

 

22 Oct 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30
 
15 Oct 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30

 

08 Oct 2020, Thu, 10:00-11:30

 

24 Sep 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30 (Joint Seminar, with EF)

 

23 Sep 2020, Wed, 11:00-12:30

 

17 Sep 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30

 

10 Sep 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30

Semester B 2019/20

26 Mar 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30
  • Ruoxuan XIONG

  • Large Dimensional Latent Factor Modeling with Missing Observations and Applications to Causal Inference

12 Mar 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30
  • Peggy LI, The University of Edinburgh

  • Big Data Analytics in Multiple Market Segments: Modelling Consumer Behavior in China

10 Mar 2020, Tue, 11:00-12:30
  • Jingyu HE, University of Chicago

  • Stochastic tree ensembles for regularized nonlinear regression

05 Mar 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30
  • Simon TRIMORN, National University of Singapore

  • TriSNAR: A 3-layer Sparse Estimator for Large-Scale Network AutoRegressive Models

Semester A 2019/20

16 Jan 2020, Thu, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Yi Ding, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

  • Factor Modeling for Volatility

6 Jan 2020, Tue, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Xi Chen, New York University

  • Robust Machine Learning for Operations

10 Dec 2019, Tue, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Sergei Savin, University of Pennsylvania

  • Investing in Performance: Information and Merit-Based Incentives in K-12 Education

5 Dec 2019, Thu, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Gad ALLON, University of Pennsylvania

  • Topic TBA

31 Oct 2019, Thu 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Hanlin Li, CityU MS

  • An ELDP method for polynomial integer programs

17 Oct 2019, Thu 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-207
  • Hanlin Li, CityU MS

  • A logarithmic method for nonlinear integer programs

5 Sep 2019, Thu, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Local Ph.D. student seminar session One

  • Speaker 1: Linggang QI

  • Managing Quality of Care in Competitive Healthcare Markets: A Rational Expectations Equilibrium Approach

  • 2 slots vacant

30 Aug 2019, Fri, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Ye LU, University of Science and Technology of China

  • Robust Price-setting Newsvendor Problem

19 Aug 2019, Mon, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Yan LIU, Tianjin University

  • An Analysis of ''Buy X, Get One Free'' Reward Programs

Semester B 2018/19

19Jun 2019, Wed, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Ruomeng CUI, Emory University

  • Value of High-Quality Logistics: Evidence from a Clash Between SF Express and Alibaba

14 Jun 2019, Fri, 14:30-15:15, LAU 7-207
6 Jun 2019, Thu, 11:00-12:30, LAU 14-211
  • Yunchuan LIU, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • Return Policies in Distribution Channels

16 May 2019, Thu, 11:00-12:00, LAU 6-207
  • Local Ph.D. student seminar session

  • Speaker: Yang YANG

  • Infertility Patients Scheduling Redesigning Problem

02 May 2019, Thu, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Local Ph.D. student seminar session

  • Speaker 1: Wenhao LI

  • Who is Next: Dynamic Patient Prioritization in an Emergency Department

  • Speaker 2: Xin HE

  • Robust Measures of Earnings Surprises

18 Apr 2019, Thu, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Zhenzhen ZHANG, National University of Singapore

  • Robust Data-Driven Vehicle Routing with Time Windows

02 Apr 2019, Tue, 11:00-12:30, LAU 6-207
  • Jianfu WANG, Nanyang Technological University

  • Line-Sitting Service in a Queue

28 Mar 2019, Thu, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Hui ZHAO, Pennsylvania State University

  • Inducing Compliance with Post-Market Studies for Drugs under FDA’s Accelerated Approval Pathway

15 Mar 2019, Fri, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Anqi ZHAO, McKinsey & Company

  • Randomization-based finite population inference from split-plot design

12 Mar 2019, Tue, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Tomohiro ANDO , Melborne Business School

  • Large scale panel logistic regressions with unobserved heterogeneity

28 Feb 2019, Thu, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Emre Demikaya, University of Southern California

  • RANK: Large-Scale Inference with Graphical Nonlinear Knockoffs

22 Feb 2019, Fri, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-207
  • Zhixin ZHOU, Baidu

  • Non-Asymptotic Cherno Lower Bound and Its Application to Community Detection in Stochastic Block Model

31 Jan 2019, Thu, 11:00-12:30, LAU 6-208
  • Long FENG, Yale University

  • Sorted Concave Penalized Regression

28 Jan 2019, Mon, 14:30-16:00, LAU 7-207
  • Oscar Hernan MADRID PADILLA, U.C. Berkeley

  • Sequential nonparametric tests for a change in distribution: an application to detecting radiological anomalies

23 Jan 2019, Wed, 11:00-12:30, LAU 6-208
  • Zhi CHEN, Imperial College London

  • Data-Driven Robust Decision-Making

09 Jan 2019, Wed, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Zhe Jeffrey LIU, Columbia University

  • Generalized Single and Dual Sourcing Models in Inventory Management

08 Jan 2019, Tue, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-208
  • Venus Hiu Ling LO, Cornell University

  • Omnichannel Assortment Optimization under the Multinomial Logit Model with a Features Tree

07 Jan 2019, Mon, 11:00-12:30, LAU 7-207
  • Chengzhang LI, Purdue University

  • Implementing Environmental and Social Responsibility Programs in Supply Networks through Multi-Unit Bilateral Negotiation

Semester A 2018/19

4 Dec, Volodymyr Babich, Georgetown University
  • Distributed Ledgers and Operations: What Operations Management Researchers Should Know about Blockchain Technology

3 Dec, Javad Nasiry, HKUST
  • Inventory Management Under Financial Constraints

30 Nov, David Chen, CUHK, SZ
  • Adoption of Electric Vehicles in Car Sharing Market

29 Nov, Ziang WANG, CityU MS
  • The Endemic Population-Trust and Supply Chain Networks

26 Nov, Guihua WANG, Univ. of Michigan
  • Driving Precision Health Care through Heterogeneous Outcome Analysis

22 Nov, Jialiang Li, NUS
  • Factor Models for Asset Returns Based on Transformed Factors

15 Nov, Cuneyt Akcora, UT Dallas
  • Blockchain Data Analytics: Building Predictive Machine Learning Models with Topological Data Features

8 Nov, Junye Li, ESSEC Business School
  • Real-Time Bayesian Learning and Bond Return Predictability

30 Oct, Chenguang WU , HKUST
  • Managing Services with Dependent Service Valuations and Service Times

25 Oct, Cheng Zhu, McGill
  • Specialist Response Policies to Reduce Waiting Times in Emergency Departments

22 Oct, Eric Li, University of Sydney
  • Robust Moral Hazard and Information Availability

18 Oct, Qiuya LI, CityU MS
  • Penalized multiple inflated values selection method with application to SAFER data

11 Oct, Jing WU, CityU MS
  • The Bullwhip Effect in Supply Networks

4 Oct, Jianfu Wang, NTU
  • Information Inaccuracy: User-Generated Information Sharing in a Queue

24 Sept, Dacheng XIU, Chicago Booth
  • Empirical Asset Pricing via Machine Learning

20 Sept, Ningyuan Chen, HKUST
  • Nonparametric Learning and Optimization with Covariates

13 Sept, Alex Zhang, CityU Accounting
  • Internal Governance and Workplace Safety