Pan-Pearl River Delta Regional Co-operation


The Pan-Pearl River Delta (Pan-PRD) and the Greater Pearl River Delta (Greater PRD)

The Pan-PRD region comprises nine provinces in the Pearl River Delta region in Southern China, plus the two SARs of Hong Kong and Macao. The nine provinces are namely Fujian, Jiangxi, Hunan, Guangdong, Guangxi, Hainan, Sichuan, Guizhou and Yunnan. The Pan-PRD region has an area of 2.006 million square km, accounting for 21% of the total area of China. It has a population of 453 million, representing 35% of the country's total population. In 2003, the region registered a collective GDP of US$652.6 billion, accounting for about 40% of China's total economic output.

The Pan-PRD regional co-operation can be viewed as an extension of the Greater PRD regional co-operation. Over the years, with the co-operation on the trade and economic front as well as in other areas among Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao, the economic integration in the Greater PRD region has made remarkable development. It has outperformed the inland provinces in the neighbourhood in terms of economic development. On the other hand, the inland provinces in the neighbourhood are endowed with vast hinterlands, huge markets and abundant resources, with each province specialising in individual industries. Given their respective strengths, the provinces are complementing with the Greater PRD on the economic front. The signing of the Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement between the Central Government and the SARs of Hong Kong and Macao respectively in June and October 2003 has opened up an avenue for Hong Kong and Macao to forge ahead, on the basis of the Greater PRD regional co-operation, with greater economic co-operation with other inland provinces. Under the national strategy of co-ordinated regional development, the idea of Pan-PRD regional co-operation initiated by Guangdong Province has received enormous support from the Central Government and met with positive response from other member provinces, thus facilitating the co-operation among the Pan-PRD region. The Pan-PRD regional co-operation will provide a wider platform for the development of the Greater PRD, which will remain the inner core of the Pan-PRD region and continue to assume the role of a powerhouse in boosting economic growth, thereby promoting the overall development of the Pan-PRD region.

Greater Pearl River Delta

The Greater Pearl River Delta (PRD) region consists of nine cities in the PRD (namely Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Dongguan, Foshan, Zhongshan, Huizhou, Jiangmen and Zhaoqing) plus Hong Kong and Macao. Hong Kong serves as an international financial, logistics and professional services centre while the PRD is a world-class manufacturing base. The combined strengths of Greater PRD underline the region's pivotal role in driving economic development and generate enormous opportunities for Hong Kong companies. This section reports on the latest developments and opportunities in the Greater PRD region.