College of Business
AACSB International EQUIS - European Quality Improvement System

Faculty Development Award (MBA/EMBA) 2015

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to announce that the following colleagues, listed alphabetically by last name, are the Faculty Development Award (MBA/EMBA) recipients for 2015:

Prof. LIM Kai (IS)in recognition of his excellent performance in MBA and EMBA courses especially his contagious enthusiasm and commitments in motivating and inspiring students to learn as well as his caring and supportive approach in encouraging students to co-discovery of knowledge.

Prof. Maris MARTINSONS (MGT)in recognition of his excellent performance in particular his significant and continuous efforts in maintaining high standard in teaching despite that he has received a number of awards for his teaching excellence.  His contributions to developing relevant business cases for MBA and EMBA programmes are also commended.

Prof. SU Chenting (MKT) –  in recognition of his excellent performance in the newly launched EMBA (Chinese) programme and efforts in developing new course materials and teaching approaches geared to motivate and enhance the learning  of the programme students who are mainly senior executives from the mainland and are the first intake of the EMBA (Chinese) programme.

The Faculty Development Award (MBA/EMBA) has been established to recognize dedicated staff members who promote innovations to enhance the quality of teaching and learning for MBA/EMBA programme in the College of Business (CB).  The Selection Panel commended that the award recipients demonstrated their excellence and strengths in making contributions to add value to the curriculum/course design and teaching of MBA/EMBA programme.

This is the first time that CB has given out such an award and the award recipients have demonstrated exemplary professional practices for CB to further develop and nurture young and junior faculty to join the teaching team for MBA/EMBA programme.   It is expected that the award will also help promote and enhance innovation in various aspects of MBA/EMBA programme.

We believe that all these award recipients will continue to further their commitments in teaching MBA/EMBA courses and share their teaching experience with other faculty who are new to MBA/EMBA teaching. Please join me in congratulating the awardees and wishing them continued success in their teaching and learning activities of MBA/EMBA programme.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the Selection Panel comprising Prof. Kelvin Yau (Chair), Prof. Kevin Chiang and Prof. Dou Wenyu, and all colleagues for participating in the award scheme, and for helping build the vibrant teaching culture in MBA/EMBA programme. We welcome your participation next year!
Last but not least, a special note of thanks goes to our benefactor, EMBA Association, for their generous donation which has made the establishment of this Faculty Development Award possible.

Professor Yan Houmin
College of Business

22 June 2015